Town Administered Scholarships

Scholarship applications will be available by January 1st and must be returned to the Town Office no later than May 1st, 2024. 

2024 Scholarship Application Form

Mail Applications to:
Board of Selectmen
329 Woodman Hill Road, Minot, Maine 04258

Electronic submissions are also accepted and should be sent to by the deadline. 

The amount of scholarship money available may change from year to year. Application form can also be obtained from the Poland Regional High School Guidance Department. Eligibility and verification requirements must before award. Payments are sent directly to the educational institution that the student is enrolled in. 

Note: Anyone may contribute to an existing fund or create a new fund. Donations are tax deductible. Please contact the Town Administrator for more information.


Kurt Theriault Memorial Scholarship (AVAILABLE)

The Kurt Theriault Memorial Scholarship was established to honor the life of Kurt and keep his memory alive. Kurt was a generous person who enjoyed helping others. He recognized the importance of education and, despite the many obstacles he had to overcome, he was able to attain one of his dreams of becoming a dental hygienist.

Leonard Simion & Elsa Fortin Simion Scholarship (NOT AVAILABLE)

Established in 1999, the Leonard Simion/Elsa Fortin Simion Scholarship is open to Minot residents who have completed at least one (1) year of college, including accredited technical colleges, and are in good standing. 

The scholarships will be awarded annually at the discretion of the Selectmen upon receipt of applications from prospective recipients.

Roland & Noella Hemond Scholarship (NOT AVAILABLE)

This scholarship was established in 2010, and is for Minot resident's attending their second year of college or other higher education (technical or trade schools are also acceptable). 

When available, a scholarship of $1,000 shall be awarded each year. Must be a resident of Minot. No family members or relatives may apply.